About falling down and getting hurt as an adult, as an infant. A not so far experience.

escalon colectivo
I am ok now. My right leg must be kept high for one more week, nothing to worry about. But a lot to learn from.

It was Saturday morning and my husband had gone to work to the Capital City driving our car. (We are a one car family – which is great because we were a no car family for some time and it gets tough to move around with three kids).
Anyhow, I had no car and around 10 AM my PC collapsed. I thought it could be easily repaired so I went to our local commercial center by bus. Two kids and the big PC case came with me. When I was stepping down from the bus, the big case covered my visual field, the floor was not flat, my ankle twisted and I fell down crashing the other leg knee strongly against the floor. Many buses in Argentina do have really stiff climbing steps so I fell down from a considerable height. (The upper photo shows it clearly). parada colectivo

subiendo bondi

The only thing I knew was I was suffering a tremendous pain in both my legs.

In the meanwhile, the PC case flew in the air banging against the sidewalk.
The bus dirver did not move.
My kids stepped down after me.
The little one was crying.
The bus supervisor started arguing with a lady passenger.
Two really big guys held me from both sides trying to set me on my feet.

I wished I were alone, nobody around me, to suffer my pain in peace. But I had to react and respond, speak and set limits, protect and comfort.

– Don´t pull me up, was the first I could say. I cannot stand.

– You two, stop arguing. (Their emotional energy was pouring over my head and it really disturbed me).

– Little one, come here. Mama got hurt but I will be ok. Sit on my lap.

It demanded me so much energy, so much experience, so much love to say those three sentences under those circumstances!

Slowly pain decreased, my good friend Irene picked me up, brought me home, placed a bandage and arnica cream on the swelled foot.

Time and patience did the rest.

I am ok now, just the right ankle must rest high for some more days and my mother / teacher heart must remember.

Remember.

My own children and my little students.

The youngest are 18 months, 2 and 3 years old. The more they learned to move independently and the more they grew in a safe caring environment, the less they get hurt or fall down. But still they go through this experience quite more often than we adults do.

Here and then they have an accident. And once and again it hurts.

What happens when a toddler falls down?

Does anyone wait for a child to overcome pain, comforting and allowing him or her to stay where he or she fell down as long as needed?

Do parents argue instead of assisting and comforting the hurt child? (“Where where you? Why did you let him fall?”… I have seen many parents fighting out of fear, their emotions set in the first place overwhelming the already stressed child).

Do infants have to “care” for the adult´s feelings?

A week later my little students came back to play. I told them what happened in a serene way, using few words, sharing my life with them.

Amber (2) pulled up her trouser and showed me her knee wound. She understood me well.

Benjamin (18mo) said “PUM!” and held his forehead adding sorround sound to my story.

Big Bus, commented Mily offering a sense of size.

Martin (20mo) went to his mom and retold her the story. He broadcasted the experience to the general public.

Sophie said: “wate, wate”.
– Are still you thirsty?
– Yes, she answered.

Mily had left the table to pick a soft ball next to Martin who already played with a transparent jar.

Life went on.

I poured a little water in Sophie´s glass and gratitude expanded within myself.

Feeling understood is such a wonderful experience…

And they understood me so well… They really did.

Leave a Reply

